I Shot Myself in the Stomach*

Last week in the rheumy’s office I used an auto-injector pen.  Just jammed it against my stomach, pressed the button, and waited.  After what I’d heard – people comparing the sting of Enbrel vs. Humira – I was pleasantly surprised.  It really wasn’t that bad.

In my wildest dreams, I never thought I’d be giving myself shots.  That’s not on my bucket list.  Not even close.  Then again, a lot of the events of these past few years took me by surprise.

Monday morning I get to try it on my own at home.  With a syringe instead of the pen.  Without any assistance or supervision.  If I say that I am not nervous, would you believe me?

This disease provides all sorts of opportunities for new learning experiences.

___________________
*technically, “abdomen” but that doesn’t have the same ring to it

7 thoughts on “I Shot Myself in the Stomach*

  1. I agree – it’s definitely the stomach!

    I’m glad your first shot went so well, and I know Monday will be another success. It’s not something you ever envision yourself doing, but it does become routine after a while. I hope you feel it working soon.

    And I definitely believe you’re not nervous, because I am not nervous AT ALL about finding a new site on Sunday… :)

  2. You’re both tough as nails. Giving myself injections isn’t on my Most Wanted Life Experiences either, WarmSocks. You’ll have to let us know how it went.

  3. I never thought I’d have to give myself needles either – but after 7 months of Enbrel – it’s worth it for the 15 seconds once a week. Good luck, you can do it!

  4. Socks: Thanks for keeping us posted. Let us know how the Enbrel works for you. I’ve used both the hypodermic needles and the auto-inject pens. Neither really hurts, I just prefer the auto-inject. Hope all of this is a breeze and Enbrel works its magic for you. Cheers, Carla

  5. I just gave myself my first shot of Methotrexate today and it was a lot easier than I thought it would be! I’m new to this whole RA thing and your blog has been a big help. It also inspired me to start my own blog. Thanks for support; it means a lot.

Leave a Reply

