Happy Thanksgiving

“What are some things you’re thankful for?”  That was the question Sunday, and people took turns telling of how blessed they are, in spite of a variety of difficulties.

I sat there – not quite sulking, but almost – miffed at how crummy this year has been.  Poor me.  I was having quite a pity party, when it dawned on me that I needed a major attitude adjustment.

Instead of feeling sorry for myself for needing 28 doctor appointments, I can be grateful that medical help is so easily obtained.

Instead of grumbling that I haven’t been able to spend as much time with my horse as I’d planned, I can be thankful that I have my own horse.  I actually, really and truly finally got a horse – the exact kind I’ve always wanted.  How cool is that!

We still have an income – significantly smaller than a few years ago, but enough to pay the bills.  We still have medical insurance.  We have a nice warm house to live in.  We have land to raise our own organic vegetables and chemical-free beef. 

No more sulking.  By then I truly was thankful.  God has blessed me greatly.  I have much to be thankful for.

And then I remembered hangers.

When our children were small, my husband would tuck the toddlers into bed while I nursed the baby to sleep.  He would pray with the children, then they would lay in bed and say, “Thank you, God, for …”  The kids would take turns naming things for which they were thankful.  Once the baby was asleep, I loved to eavesdrop to see what they’d come up with.  They didn’t just name the same things night after night, but were creative.

One night, my son said, “Thank you, God, for hangers.”  Hangers????   I didn’t think that was suitable.  What about more noble things, like, family, or peace, or good neighbors?

God nudged me.  You’re NOT thankful for hangers?  I could arrange for you to not have any.  How would that be?  

I pondered for a moment life without hangers – or life without the need for hangers.  I decided that my son had the right idea.  I, too, am thankful for hangers.

It’s easy for me to get complacent, and sometimes I need a reminder of how very much I have to be thankful for – hangers and all.

May you have a wonderful Thanksgiving holiday.