Good News!

It is so nice to be taken seriously.  This new gastroenterologist looked at my CT images and said, “We need to get this done soon.”  He rearranged his schedule to fit me in.

Next week I should be able to eat without pain.  I’ll be able to visit people over the Thanksgiving weekend without fear of landing in the hospital again.  My kids will be able to concentrate on their schoolwork instead of worrying about me.

Instead of just dictating when I had to show up, the nurse asked about my schedule and gave me options.  I told them to do it as soon as possible, and I’d make it work.  It turns out I have some juggling to do because my pre-op appointment with anesthesia conflicts with my children’s violin recital, and the actual procedure conflicts with another doctor’s appointment that I’ve had scheduled for a month.  BUT it will be done!  I’ll juggle the other things as best I can, and I’m happy to do it.

The nurse said they would have done it this past week, except they couldn’t schedule an operating room at the hospital without a guarantee that the machine would be here.  Apparently the EHL/ERCP combination is a special procedure that requires borrowing a machine.

It’s funny how different medical practices can take such different approaches to their potential patients.

Practice #1

Practice #2

 Phone call to schedule appt  3 weeks after receipt of referral  1 day after receipt of referral
 First appointment  5 weeks after receipt of referral  2 days after receipt of referral
 Procedure appointment  8 weeks after receipt of referral  2 weeks after receipt of referral
 Asked about my schedule  No  Yes

The second place will perform the procedure two days before the first place will even get me in for an initial appointment.  Is it solely a matter of how they do business, or is there a difference in how the referrals were written?

I owe my family physician huge thanks for getting me the new referral.  I wish there were something I could do to convey my gratitude to him.

________
Edit to change ESWL to EHL