Thank you, Alexander Graham Bell

I’m calling to make an appointment to call you.

You just did call me.

Yes. I called to make an appointment to get some information from you.  When would be a good time?

I’m available right now.

Oh, no.  I need to make an appointment to call you tomorrow.  We need to get a complete medical history from you for your upcoming procedure.

I gave that information to the surgeon yesterday.  He said he’d fax it to you.

Well, I can ask him to fax it to us, but I really need to make an appointment to get this information directly from you.

Let me get this straight.  You’re phoning me from the surgical center today to make an appointment to phone me tomorrow to get information from me that I gave to the surgeon yesterday?  Even though I’m available right now, you’re not allowed to ask me now; you must wait until tomorrow even though my schedule is already full?

Yes, ma’am.  That’s our protocol.

Your hospital’s protocol has certainly provided lots of blog fodder.