My Doctor Is Wonderful

Yesterday I felt trapped in an impersonal hospital room.  I was miffed at being ignored.  Sure, the hospitalists are busy, but ordering lab tests and looking at consult notes without ever seeing the patient doesn’t seem like the best of care to me.  Having nurses and techs who don’t respond to alarms and call lights, and don’t respond to requests for medicine, is miserable.

Fortunately I have my cell phone. I phoned my family physician’s office to cancel my biopsy appointment.  My family physician follows his own patients in the hospital and doesn’t use hospitalists, so the receptionist told me that my doctor would be by to see me.  Later a nurse popped her head in to say that my doctor would be in after he was done seeing all his patients in clinic.  He didn’t make it, but I felt more hopeful just knowing that he knew I was here.

This morning he came to see me.  It is so nice to have someone in charge of my care who knows me and can coordinate everything.  When he came in, I told him that I think I would’ve preferred the biopsy to this.  He grinned back and said he’d been thinking that this was a pretty extreme way to avoid having a biopsy.

He asked me questions, did an exam, and explained what the tests have shown so far.  When he learned that I requested more pain medicine at 3:00, but didn’t get any until after 7:00, he was not happy about it and wrote new orders.  Now the nurse is supposed to give meds regularly whether I ask or not, and can give extra if I need more before then.  That is a much better system.

My doctor told me I’ll be here at least a few more days.  Even though the CT showed tons of gallstones, the EGD didn’t find any stuck anywhere and my liver function tests look good, so the gastroenterologist believes that my sulfasalzine is responsible for the pancreatitis.  This is a bit of a problem for me, since last time my rheumatologist took me off ssz I could barely walk.   My family physician will talk with my rheumatologist and figure out what to do long-term.  Everyone else has been pretty vague, and I love finally getting some straight answers and feeling like I have someone looking out for me.

Thanks for reading.
I appreciate your support!

8 thoughts on “My Doctor Is Wonderful

  1. Sending best wishes your way. You certainly didn’t need any @#&$! pancreatitis. Hope everything, including meds, gets figured out in a satisfactory way. And that stinks about the pain meds. Good Grief!!

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling more in control of the situation, Socks, and glad that you have such a responsive and caring doctor. I share your concern about the sulfasalazine (and am tucking your current situation away in my mind, as I’m taking the stuff too), so I hope if you do have to stop it, there will be something else you can take that will do as decent of job on your RA symptoms.

    Sending warmth, patience and care your way. Hang in there. You’ll be home soon.

  3. Sorry to read that you have pancreatitis and gallstones on top of your other circumstances. I reviewed your last 4 posts on my Dr Synonymous Show Tuesday night, by the way, and expect to comment on the hospital posts next Tuesday. I hope the pain medication is still arriving on time. Nothing like sickness when it’s over. It’s nice that your family physician plays a key role in the decisions.
    Best wishes for a speedy recovery.
    A P Jonas, MD

  4. I’m glad your GP is following you in the hospital. So many times when a person goes into the hospital their care is handled by a doctor who doesn’t really know them. Glad he changed the pain med order and I hope he read them the riot act. I know nurses may be overworked but a 4 hour wait for pain meds is outrageous. Hope you are home soon and that they can hit on a treatment plan that works well for you.

  5. Thank you :D They did bring the pain & nausea medicine in regularly, so I had a much better day Friday.
    However, I’ve been instructed to push the call button if the alarm on my IV goes off, and it doesn’t matter one little bit whether I push the button or not because nobody has ever responded to that call light. If there were an emergency in here, I’d just have to wait until someone happened into the room. That doesn’t make me feel very comfortable. Even with my blood pressure dropping to 87/54, they’re not really keeping an eye on me (except to deny my headache medicine). They ask if I want the light on, then do the opposite of what I want. The first night I was awake in the dark; the second night I had to sleep with the light on. Fortunately, yesterday I figured out how to work the light so I got to set it myself last night.

    Today I’m still NPO, and am amazed that I haven’t eaten since lunch on Wednesday and don’t feel the slightest bit hungry.

    My kids came to visit last night. The 9 year old climbed up beside me on the bed and snuggled close. I let him play with the controls to move the bed around and he thought that was lots of fun. After a while he moved and let my 14yo sit beside me. She’s been pretty worried, too, and really needed to see that I wasn’t as sick as I was on Wednesday. It helps that they’ve removed the NG tube so that I look closer to normal. She had an activity on Wednesday afternoon; the other kids went but she stayed home to make sure (in her words) that I didn’t pass out and have nobody there to help me. I finally had her call my husband to come home from work so that it could be an adult doing the worrying instead of a kid who doesn’t need that kinds of pressure. The older kids had a youth group meeting Wednesday night, so it was supposed to be parents & youngest at home for a 1-on-one, but my teens insisted on taking the 9yo with them to youth group so my husband could bring me to the hospital. They’re terrific kids. I miss them.

    I suspect that I’m starting to ramble, so will shut my computer off and take a nap. Hope life is treating you well.

  6. I’m not sure how I found my way to your blog but I’m happy I’m here. First, I’m so sorry you’re in the hospital– I’m am so not a fan of hospitalists. The last person you want poking at you when you are so sick you’re in the hospital is a total stranger. Ugh. So glad you have a great doc who’s on the job.

    Wishing you all the best.

Leave a Reply

