Oh, How I Hate Insurance Games

I’ve just received an EOB from my insurance company and a corresponding bill from my doctor’s office, and would like to scream.

  • Even though my auto insurer said they’d pay for all the claims for treatment related to our auto accident for up to three years, they’re refusing to pay two of them.  My doctor’s office then billed my health insurance.
  • My health insurer says that these are for an MVA injury and they won’t pay.

The EOB actually says that the doctor’s office has to just eat the charges.  That’s so wrong.  I know that I could appeal, argue my case, and get this covered but it just isn’t worth it anymore.  Between this and the other medical bills sitting in a stack on my desk, I’ve spent three hours on the phone trying to straighten out what should be simple, routine payments.

My time has value, too.  I would rather just pay my doctor than keep fighting with the insurance companies over this.