Next!

This time last year, I felt great.  It was wonderful to finally feel good again. 

Things fell apart when I tried to reduce my number of meds.  Discontinuing ssz was a huge mistake, so I added it back in.  Next I discontinued the hcq.  The difference wasn’t as dramatic as it had been with ssz, but it definitely made a difference.  Sometimes I wonder if we should have just added it back instead of switching to biologic #2.

After a year spent singing the praises of Enbrel, I’ve been fairly silent about my second biologic.  Reason being, it didn’t work.  It’s a med that works very well for many people, so I don’t want to denigrate it unfairly.  In my treatment plan, though, it’s history.

Given my druthers, my rheumatologist would have written prescriptions to return to what was working a year ago.  She, obviously, knows all sorts of things I don’t, and thought it better to try a different biologic (maybe because just a couple months ago she had to argue with my insurer that biologic #1 wasn’t working).

I’ve now received my first dose of Cimzia of the cool looking syringe.  I’ll post a picture if my insurance company ever gets around to processing my pre-auth.  They took their own sweet time with the last one, and it drives me crazy that think they know better than my doctor what treatment is appropriate. (/rant)

I feel better already — likely due to the 20mg prednisone that I’ll have the pleasure of tapering off in a couple months.  On the plus side, there’s no need to finance a steroid injection in my shoulder.  The pred has already helped dramatically.

I have no desire to work my way through every single biologic on the market.  Let’s hope this one works better than the last.