Christmas Break

For three years, I’ve told my family that I’d like a pitchfork.  For three years, they’ve thought that was a stupid idea for gift-giving occasions.  Birthdays, mother’s day, Christmas, and anniversaries have come and gone, and I’ve continued to hunt for the family pitchfork because nobody ever returns it to the tool shed when they’re done with it.  This Christmas, at last, I received a pitchfork of my very own.  It might be my favorite gift.

Might be.  However, I also received a nice pair of brown shoes that will accomodate my orthotics, so it’s hard to choose a favorite.  I got two cool presents.

My husband and I didn’t exchange gifts, which our kids think is a bit odd.  We both have everything we need (from all the boxes in storage, it appears that we also have a bunch of stuff we don’t need).  Instead of spending money just to go through the motions of wrapping a box to place beneath the tree, we’re planning to go out to dinner together – without the kids – using a gift certificate given to us last year that we’ve never had time to enjoy!

Then I bought myself something.  After devoting a lot more time than I’d intended in exploring OpenOffice, I established beyond a doubt that it won’t allow me to build the database I have in mind (mentioned here and here).  I bought myself the most current version of Access.  Actually, I got a great deal on the whole Office 2007 package and discovered some pretty cool features.  Not only do I get to write my database, but I’ll also be playing with a few other software packages, too.  Once I get the wrinkles ironed out, I’ll post some examples.

That’s it for now.  Hope you had a good Christmas break.