When Life Happens

Yesterday’s sermon was from Proverbs 5:15-19 — not a passage one usually hears from the pulpit.  In illustrating one of his points, the pastor read a story written by a surgeon who described the reactions of a couple as they learned the outcome of an operation.  In order to completely remove a tumor, the surgeon had to cut a nerve near the patient’s mouth.  This permanently affected her facial expression, and she feared her husband’s reaction. 

The story went on to talk about the husband’s acceptance and love of his wife based on who she was (her character), not based on something over which they had no control.

Tears welled up in my eyes as I thought about how supportive my husband has  been through all my doctor’s appointments these past couple years.  I have no idea what the point of the sermon was after that, as I was trying (rather unsuccessfully) not to cry.  The diagnosis of a chronic disease sucks.

Through it all, my husband has been incredible.  Sometimes I think it isn’t fair for him to have to deal with this.  Then again, if our roles were reversed my love for him wouldn’t be any different – I’d be insulted if someone implied that my character was so shallow that something like that would matter.

 

Marriage vows aren’t multiple-choice.  Marriage means making an commitment to stick together regardless of what life throws at you.  When things get rough, it’s sure nice to be on the receiving end of unconditional love.