Socks

Hmmm… Reading back, it looks like I revealed a little more than intended in my last few posts.  I promise not to be quite so introspective (at least not for a while)!

Moving on… I still haven’t posted a photo of the socks I knit on our journey last July to see Crater Lake, Pinnacles Overlook, and various other sites up and down the west coast.  That’s because when I finished them, I didn’t like them.  The red that looked so terrific in the yarn shop didn’t look so good in different lighting, since it turned out that the varigated yarn had orange instead of red.  I stuffed the socks in the bottom of my knitting bag and ignored them, hoping that somehow time would work an improvement.  Didn’t happen.

Realizing that I’d be spending sixteen hours in the car for our Thanksgiving trip, I found wool of a more acceptable color – a green that exactly matched.  I frogged the red cuffs and tried again.  Here’s one old and one new:

The lighting doesn’t quite do justice to the color variation.

I also started a pair of black socks.  They were supposed to be for me, and since I’ve used this brand/weight of yarn (but not this color) for half a dozen pair of socks, I didn’t check for gauge.  Consequently, these socks – when and if I finish them – should fit my seven-year-old.

____________________________________________________________________
I find that knitting keeps my hands moving and prevents me from getting quite so stiff.
Are there particular activities that you enjoy doing that – as a side benefit – help relieve RA symptoms?
____________________________________________________________________

 

_________________
Actually, I couldn’t bring myself to frog the cuffs. I knit too slowly to rip out all that work, so I painstakingly detached them and set them aside on waste yarn, just in case I ever need bright red cuffs.  Maybe a pair of dark grey knee socks with red cuffs/heels/toes for my daughter with hard-to-fit feet.

10 thoughts on “Socks

    • A good yarn shop will often have classes. I actually learned to knit at a mental hospital. I was a VOLUNTEER on the geriatrics ward, not a patient. Let’s just make that clear! ;) Teaching me how to knit gave the patients something to do. You could maybe find people in a nursing home willing to teach you, since I wouldn’t recommend the place I learned.

      Other options: There’s a kids’ kit (around $15?) that comes with dvd instructions – check WalMart or Michaels or a store like that. If you’re learning it as a new skill and have the choice, learn to knit continental. I learned to “throw” and it’s incredibly slow. I’m trying to switch.

  1. Is frogging the same as unraveling or, um, un-knitting? I took knitting in Home Ec a thousand years ago, but didn’t do real well at it. I think I got a C. (I was vehemently against anything that smacked of “home arts”, since I was a budding and dedicated feminist.) NOW I think I’d like to learn how. I do love yarns — the colors and textures available in yarn shops fascinate me (it’s that magpie eye of mine!).

    I like your Pinnacles/Crater Lake socks. In fact, I like that one sock has a red top and the other a green one. I’d wear them with pride and a grin…

    I write (in case you didn’t notice) to keep my hands flexible. Well, OK. I’d write even without the rheuma, and have for years. Still, I’m glad it’s an activity that I can honestly say actually helps my hands. My worst nightmare is to find myself unable to do even that one day. While I know there are alternatives to typing now (computerized voice recognition and transcription), and not being able to type wouldn’t necessarily mean my creativity would be stifled, it’s a scary thought.

    Knitting. I should take a class. ;o)

    • Thank you.
      Yes, frogging is (Ribbit-Ribbit) rip-it out.
      I was thinking that the photo of two different cuffs looks a whole lot better than the socks looked in real life. Another time I might just make them different. I’ve seen ads for a set of 3 socks – same yarns, but different patterns – that are designed to be worn mix&match. Odd, but it looks kinda fun, too.

  2. Wren – between the ages of 11 and 13 I couldn’t hold a pen or pencil. I had to type everything, even in class. Extremely frustrating.

    I came out of it, though, and can write easily now, although not for long periods.

  3. Helen — that would be frustrating. Terribly so. I don’t often write more than lists of things to do in longhand — the rest of my writing is done on a keyboard — but there have been times when both have been very difficult. Temporary, thankfully. I guess we simply learn to compensate and move on. :o)

  4. I’m sure the huge amounts of typing that I do for a living, followed by the crochet I’ve just got into (in the middle of a huge ‘Dr Who Scarf’ for a Christmas pressie at the mo) keep my hands more supple than they would otherwise be. However, finding a balance between exercising them just right and overdoing it is HARD!!

    As to writing, I couldn’t understand why my hand-writing had gone so appalling until after I was diagnosed with R.A.! It’s somewhat better now, but I do everything I can on the keyboard.

    • finding a balance between exercising them just right and overdoing it is HARD!!
      Agreed. I’ve wondered if lots of typing counts as finger exercises. My penmanship’s never been spectacular, but it’s gotten even worse in the past few years (something anyone who’s seen my handwriting would have said is impossible).

Leave a Reply

