MTX

At my next appointment, I want to hear, “You’re doing great! Let’s try to cut back on your meds.”  I do not want to be given an additional prescription every time I see a doctor:

NewRx

SIGH

 

Was able to move my Thursday appointment to today, so I probably don’t have to go back into town this week.  Saves two hours of driving time.

  • Rheumy:  above new Rx; follow-up in one month instead of two
  • Podiatrist: hold off on the gabapentin for now; wants to see me after I’ve been on the mtx for a month and seen my rheumy again
  • PCP: gave me a cortisone shot and put my arm in a sling for a few days

The sling makes it a bit difficult to type and operate my computer’s mouse, so I’ll probably not be writing much this week.

MTX

I’m having a bit of trouble with the idea of needing to take methotrexate.

When I started the plaquenil, it helped.  I was happy to see so much improvement on a mild DMARD.

Then things got worse and we added sulfasalazine.  It helped, and I was happy to be doing well again on the relatively mild DMARDS.

I foolishly thought, “I can’t be too bad, because I don’t need methotrexate.”  Now we’re adding mtx, not even substituting it for one of the others.  And I am not happy about this.

5 thoughts on “MTX

  1. I’ve been taking Methotrexate for 15 years, since I was 11. During that period, my RA has fluctuated, as has my dosage of mtx – sometimes it’s had to be high, and other times it’s been very low. (I also take Enbrel, and my rheumatologist finds they work best together, so I’ve stayed with both.) I don’t have any side effects from the mtx.

    I do know how you feel about adding another drug. I hope that the methotrexate will help you, though, and get you feeling close to normal again. It, and the Enbrel, have done that for me. Good luck – I will be interested to hear how it goes.

    • Thank you. People tell me that it’s usually well-tolerated. I’ve decided on Tuesday nights for my mtx dose so that I can sleep through the worst of it.

  2. I’ve had to do that too and it sucks. Have you been on it before? If no, make sure to ask your doctor about folic acid supplements, iron supplements, and potassium supplements…makes the side effects easier!

    • First time for mtx. The rx also included folic acid. Some people skip it on their mtx day, but she said not to skip. I hadn’t heard about the other supplements. Guess I’d better resume taking my vitamin.

  3. I can totally understand your thoughts on adding the methotrexate. I am on Plaquenil right now and I keep thinking the same thing about how I must not be too bad if the plaquenil is working for me. I think I’d feel the same way if/when I add something else. Right now I can sort of pretend nothing is really so wrong but once I add anything it makes it more real for me.

    Good luck and I can’t wait to read your experiences with it. My doctor said we might be adding it for me at my next appointment depending on the results of the ultrasound and blood tests, and that next appointment is coming up in November.

Leave a Reply

