Three More

ventThree.  This week. 

Aside from the day-to-day struggles of an invisible disease, one aspect that nobody talks about is the frequency of doctor’s appointments.

Prior to this invisible illness, I rarely saw my doctor.  I’d see him every-other-year for a routine check-up.  Not that I thought I needed a doctor, but because that illusive “they” recommend preventive care.

Sick visits?  No.  When I’m sick, I want to stay in bed and sleep.  When my kids are sick, I feed them chicken soup and Gatorade and let them spend the day napping.  We do not buckle everyone in the car with barf buckets and go spread their germs.  We stay home and let time work its curative magic.

The switch from rarely (a good thing) to frequently (not!) is driving me crazy!

 

Doctor Visits

Lab/x-ray/etc

Physical Therapy

2005

0

0

0

2006

1

1

0

2007

10

9

5

2008

12

5

3

ytd 2009

13

15

0

I have already had a dozen years worth of doctor appointments in the past nine months, and I have three more appointments scheduled this coming week.  How did that happen?

One of the doctors I’ll be seeing has a standing order for monthly blood draws, another one will likely order x-rays, and they will all probably want to schedule a follow-up.  I already have one appointment scheduled for December and also need an eye exam.  Oh, and I broke another tooth so need to schedule an appointment with my dentist (I don’t usually count dentists in my doctor-encounters, but right now it’s adding to my discomfort and scheduling chaos).  This means, if I’m guessing correctly, that there will be over twenty appointments for me before the year is over, and an equal number of tests.

I walk around looking perfectly normal.  My disease is invisible.  Yet a look at my calendar will go a long way toward explaining why I feel that medicine has taken over my life!

6 thoughts on “Three More

  1. I can completely relate to this post. I feel like people can’t even understand how abnormal this makes me feel (but I bet you can). When all my friends are getting together for coffee after putting their kids on the bus, I am racing to a doctor trying frantically to get back before they are ready to come home from school. This is so not the life I imagined. I sort of thought I would be one of the coffee gathering women (although I would probably be knitting and not just drinking coffee). I sometimes feel left out of “normal” life because of this. I am grateful that I can appear normal, but I wish I had the normal life to go with it!

    • Tori, do you spread your appointments out, or try to cram as many as possible into one day? By scheduling two back-to-back I can eliminate a second day of driving.

  2. Sack your insurance for a while and that’ll change! I waited a year to become eligble only to find my RA wouldn’t be covered for yet a second year as it was pre-exsting. It would’ve been covered if I had been able to afford COBRA but since I couldn’t and I paid for a little care and meds for it out of my own pocket, I got zapped as preexisting! What kind of scam is that. If I hadn’t treated it I wouldn’t be able to work to get the insurance, and it would’ve gotten worse costing more in the long run.

    As strayze says, in cases like yours, you have to be well to be sick! (i.e.- to handle the full-time job of being sick).

    • Having lived without health insurance when I was younger, I really appreciate having good coverage now.

      Two years for a pre-existing condition seems like a really long time! Glad you were able to work it out to get treatment.

  3. I can completely relate to this, too. It’s incredibly frustrating, and now that I have a 9-5 job, it’s guilt-inducing, too. I feel like I take more time off than anyone else, and most of it is spent at the hospital.

  4. I can definitely relate. There was a stretch of time when I was having lots of problems – lasted about six or seven months – and I had some sort of doctor’s appointment at least once a week, usually more. It got to the point where a week without visiting a doctor’s office was an extraordinary thing to be celebrated.

Leave a Reply

