Podiatrist

This is how it should work!  My appointment with the podiatrist went very well.

Prior to my appointment I typed a history – as best as I could remember – of the problem with my feet.  When it started, how long it’s lasted, what I’ve tried, what makes it better, and what makes it worse – with a separate section titled “I don’t know whether or not this is pertinent info.”

When I arrived for my appointment I gave the receptionist my MRI films, the report from my EMG, and my typed history.  The doctor looked over all that data before coming into the exam room.  None of those “why are you here” questions, wherein I promptly forget half the things I wanted to tell the doctor.  He looked at my feet, pushed and poked (gently, which I appreciated!), and asked pointed questions to clarify the info I’d provided.  We talked about my oldest son (who he treated a few years ago), his kids, the cost of college, teaching teens to drive…  It was a nice visit.

He mentioned something that I’ve read a few places:  pain in one place is usually a local problem; bilateral pain tends to be systemic.  It’s the bilateral nature of my issues that is most concerning for everyone (it concerns my doctors – I find it annoying, aggravating, frustrating…).  People with uncontrolled diabetes can have trouble with their feet.  Old people having trouble with their feet isn’t overly concerning because everything starts to hurt when you get old.  But doctors get concerned when young people (he called me young!) have bilateral pain.

I left the appointment thinking the doctor was nice, he gave me a clue what he was thinking, he has a multi-step treatment plan, and we’ll get this under control.

Hope is a wonderful thing.