Tastes Like Apple Pie

PieCrisp

1 (12oz) can frozen apple juice concentrate
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/3 C tapioca
8 C sliced zucchini (or you could use apples!)

Boil zucchini slices in water for two minutes, just until tender.  Drain well and cool.

Mix remaining ingredients together and cook until thick.  Stir in zucchini and pour into 10″ deep dish pie plate (crust optional) – if you have a smaller pie pan, use fewer zucchini/apples.  Top with apple-crisp topping (or crust) of your choice. Bake 350 F for one hour.

***

When zucchini gets too large for saute’ ing, I peel it, use a melon-baller to remove the center, and slice. It looks just like sliced apple.  People who don’t like zucchini will like this dish, and will never know it isn’t apples unless you tell them.

PiePrep

And since the zucchini in my garden is growing exceptionally well this year, I anticipate making this pie frequently.  I’ve vacuum-sealed bags and bags and bags of slices, all ready to go into a pie (or to be saute’d).  We also have lots of grated zucchini in the freezer.  And more zucchini growing in the garden.  Here’s what was picked yesterday:

zucchini

*  *  *

Random thoughts:

  • Tomorrow morning I take my oldest in to have his wisdom teeth extracted.  The hardest part for him will be following instructions to sit around and not do anything for a week.
  • Finally received a check from the insurance company to replace our totalled car.
  • I should be feeling better by now, but parts of me are feeling worse instead of better.  Seriously debating just ignoring everything because, although I like my doctor, I’m pretty tired of seeing him.  What’s the worst that can happen?  I could die.  In which case, it wouldn’t hurt any more.  But I’d like to be around to raise my kids, so am contemplating phoning the doctor’s office.
  • Need to order curriculum for the upcoming school year.  Composition instead of literature this year, so the book expense won’t be as much as usual.

Have a great week!