Knees

The home of the people who hosted one of my recent family reunions has a sunken living room.  Up and down, up and down, up and down…  At one point I commented, “All these stairs sure are hard on the knees.”  Now, I might think it, but I should know better than to say such a thing; somehow it just slipped out.

And the 70-year-old grand-aunt who heard me said, “Just wait until you’re older.”

No, I didn’t scream or strangle her.  I thought how I must sound, viewed from her perspective.  I don’t think she knows about my diagnosis, so she must’ve thought I had no idea what I was talking about.  For a minute I was tempted to do a little RA education, but decided to just walk away.  Let it go…

I played soccer in elementary school, junior high, high school, and college.  I also enjoyed gymnastics in my younger days.  Those two sports, individually, are known for leading to early knee-replacements.  I don’t know if my knee troubles are from my RA or from my active past, but my next search will be PT exercises for the knees.  Input welcome!

One thought on “Knees

  1. You’re very patient. I would have screamed or strangled her. I mean, simply *because* she knows nothing about your life and/or conditions, she shouldn’t be commenting like that. For all she knows, you could just have gotten a couple of knee replacements!

    Sorry I don’t know any knee exercises. I only know piriformis exercises (these are for the butt). Sigh. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

