Meds on Vacation

Crater LakeHome sweet home.

As I was preparing everything for our recent trip (report in a future post), I realized that three of my prescriptions would need to be refilled while we were gone, and one would need a refill the day we returned home.

Options:

  • take my chances on finding a pharmacy when I need one
  • search for pharmacy locations ahead of time, then try to be where we can get to a pharmacy on the appropriate days
  • skip all the pills – it’s a vacation
  • vacation override

Wouldn’t it be nice to take a vacation from prescriptions?  I’d love to.  Then again, I’m a big fan of being able to walk, so I take my prescriptions. Without exception.

I asked my pharmacy for suggestions.  They asked for two or three days to work on it, and contacted my insurance to request a vacation override.  It was very nice to be able to take meds for the entire trip and not have to count on finding a pharmacy.  Good thing, as it turned out.  Fortunately, I was able to talk them into putting everything in extra-large bottles.  This allowed me to dump the half-used bottles of pills on top of the new ones and only pack one bottle per med.  Definitely something I will do in the future.

2 thoughts on “Meds on Vacation

  1. Thanks for the tips, hope you had a wonderful vacation! Once I had to prepare for three months on the road – you should have seen the size of my stash of medications!!!

Leave a Reply

